Spirulina & Manuka Honey Face Mask

Image

Image

 

Spirulina & Manuka Honey Face Mask

                                    (Or as my Husband calls it, my Green Monster Mask)

 

Have you ever had Spirulina?  No word of a lie, it tastes like s#*t.  Plain & simple.  I can’t even be a “lady” about it.  It’s just that BAD!  But I still drink it in my smoothie EVERY SINGLE MORNING because it’s JUST THAT GOOD FOR YOU (and the other stuff in my smoothie always masks it- HA!  I said “masks” in my article about a “Mask”.  FUNNY!)

 

So before I tell you how to make this amazing face mask I would like to point out the benefits of Spirulina for your skin. Spirulina is a nutrient packed algae that just may be the very best source of antioxidants that you can find for your skin. It contains almost all known anti-oxidants: C, B1, B5 and B6, the minerals Zinc, manganese, copper, amino acid methionine, beta-carotene and vitamin E.  These antioxidants help fend off free-radicals, eliminate toxins from the skin, help prevent candida bacteria build-up that can cause acne AND increase the skin’s metabolism for faster skin cell regeneration and healing.  It also contains gamma-linoleic, which is a rare acid found in breast milk and primrose oil (AWESOME!). Gamma-linoleic protects the integrity of the skin’s cells and muscles and forms new cell membranes!!!  Making Spirulina THE PERFECT ingredient in a face mask to help prevent and combat free-radicals & the signs of aging.  Do this mask twice a week, my friend, & see the magic!

 

And as for Manuka Honey, you should all know a thing or two about that by now!  Aren’t I forever and ever going on about the joys and miracles of Manuka Honey?  And you all listen and absorb every word I say, right?!?  Ok, ok… So Manuka Honey is the bees knees (I HAD TO!  Forgive me?)!  It’s FULL of antibacterial, antifungal & antimicrobial properties and does wonders for moisturizing the skin.  It even shrinks pores whilst brightening & evening out skin tone due to its high levels of gluconic acid.  BONUS!  Manuka (any RAW, organic Honey really, BUT MANUKA REIGNS SUPREME) not only cleans your skin & helps fight acne but it adds serious moisture to your skin as it’s a high velocity Humectant.  One of Mother Nature’s finest, my dears!

 

So let’s get to making that mask, shall we?!

Mix 1 Tablespoon of Manuka Honey (or any good quality Raw, Organic Honey- Manuka is THICK, so you may have to warm it up a few secs in the microwave or in a double boiler if you’re seriously anti-microwave.  A few seconds is enough, we don’t want to make it hot and burn those sweet cheeks of yours!!! CAREFUL!) with 1 Tablespoon of Spirulina!  THAT IS IT!  Mix it up well and slather it on.  I make sure to have my hair pulled back and to not be wearing a shirt I care too much about (Spirulina is a crazy dark green algae color).  You could totally use your hands but I use a pastry brush as it goes on easier and smoother.  Now sit back and relax.  Leave it on for 25-45 minutes for maximum benefit. 

 

Keep it up, Ladies & don’t be shy, tell me how much you love me!  Or not.  But more of the DO, please!

 

 Love Thy Self, Ladies & Love the Skin You’re In!

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Spirulina & Manuka Honey Face Mask

  1. Oh this mask sounds divine! Great post BG!!! I so love reading your words, it’s as though you’re speaking to me, I can hear your voice and little giggles too! Makes me miss you so, but this connects us. oxoxox

  2. I mix spirulina with yogurt and apply this atleast 1 x week. . . let me say that this makes my skin glow beyond words ; )

  3. Did you ever try eating this combo? I had trouble taking spirulina for years until I mixed it with raw honey. You can’t taste it!

    • JAMIE!!!!! No, I have not BUT I AM SO GOING TO!!!! I mix in in my smoothies as it’s soooooo BARFY otherwise, I KNOW! Like worst stuff eeeeeeevvvvvvveeeerrrrrrr but great for your skin! I will 100% be trying it in my honey, I have liters of honey that clients buy me as gifts. I’m like a honey collector. THANK YOU!!!!

    • Geesh! I don’t know! But I do suppose so, I take Spirulina every day and I’ve certainly gone through spells of time where I’ve had time every night for weeks to do a Honey-based face mask! I like to propose moderation, say like 3 times a week but if you’ve got the time the give’er, Alisa & report back as to HOW AMAZING your skin looks & feels! xx

  4. Fantastic, I have never felt so good even with a high price facial. Not only that, but I could feel it working for days. Thank you so much.

    • Oh Gosh! I had sort of forgotten about this mask! AHHHHH! My Spirulina adn Manuka Face Mask!!!! YOu are so welcome! Isn’t it just divine???? I am so doing this one tonight. THanks for the reminder, Sue Marie, and thank you also for taking the time to tell me that you loved it! xx

  5. I just got Spirulina and Manuka honey for my birthday… Gotta admit putting that on my wish list made my family think I was a little crazy. But I’m super excited about this idea. What’s your best smoothie recipe with these ingredients?? Thanks!

    • I bet! Ha! That is likely the oddest Birthday list you’ve ever given, I’m sure, but man! Totally worth it! Have you tried a mask yet? The oxygenating qualities are so fabulous. I am still enamored with the glow/dewey appearance that this mask leaves your face with for days… I don’t have a FAV smoothie per say, I just add it to all that I am making. Maybe not always the manuka, I do save that for teas or my face, but spirulina goes in 100% all of my smoothies, regardless of ingredients otherwise.

  6. so where’s the benefit visible? what is it? are you wrinkle free? blemish free? acne free? Can you please post before and after photo showing this magnificent benefit that this mask has given your face.

    • The benefits lie within your skin’s glow/dewey finish that lasts for days! No kidding. Glowing for days. The Spirulina is so oxygenating and the manuka (or any raw, pure, organic honey– just manuka the reigning King of honeys, but also the most expensive, so…) a natural disinfectant that hydrates while purifying, so your skin is hydrated and oxygenated and leaves a great finished complexion. Pictures don’t really do this justice. Life does. Try it and see. I’ve never known anyone to not be happy with a spirulina & honey face mask.

Leave a comment